That Time I almost Dated a Trump Supporter…

So there was this one time I almost dated a Trump supporter…

Yea I know, rough times, I try not to talk about it.

Basically I had met this guy through one of the 8 million dating apps I am currently using because my mother is persistently on my case about finding someone and getting married. Let’s call him Captain TrumpBeard. So, Captain TrumpBeard moved to Canada as a kid and grew up there. However, in recent years his parents moved to the States when Captain TrumpBeard’s father was was offered a great job opportunity, but Captain TrumpBeard had stayed back. He already had a good job in good ol’ Canada and the rest of his extended family still remained there.

He seemed nice enough, a little short for my taste and that beard seemed to have a life of its own but hey, I could live with it. We were totally fine the first few weeks and I even mentioned him to my mom. She wasn’t so excited about the Canada part but she was like
“why not, it’s not like we have other options here.”

We continue for a few more weeks and we had even tried to meet up when he visited his parents but our schedules never worked out. Then elections started to get heated, so we discussed it and Captain TrumpBeard’s all ” I think Trump will be good for America, he has some good plans.”

kelly clarkson, dafuq

Wait…. WHAT?

What plan? Trump never says anything coherent or of any substance! What about Trump’s hate speech did you find intriguing? I mean I was completely baffled. Was this guy watching the same election I was? Was he listening to the same speeches? What was positive, where did you hear a good plan out of this?

Captain TrumpBeard continued on like “oh yea, America needs this change.”

 

Season 8 GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

I’m sorry switching from following Arsenal to Manchester United is change… this was switching from free country to terrorized dictatorship.

Honestly, as a brown Muslim man how could you possibly relate to this orange cheese puff? Do you like, hate yourself or something Captain TrumpBeard?

I’m sorry, you do know that your BROWN MUSLIM PARENTS who are CANADIAN CITIZENS live in a RED STATE with all WHITE PEOPLE, no?

I guess you don’t love your parents Captain TrumpBeard? How could I possibly date or potentially marry a Trump supporter? I had a significantly younger classmate complain about how she got walked out on a date because she’s a Trump supporter and her Tinder date was offended by it. Honestly, I don’t blame the guy, I get that this little youngin doesn’t get the significance of a Trump presidency yet and her feelings were hurt but this is the real world. If it was any other political figure running I would not be this offended, I would have said why should this affect your relationship?

Honestly, I don’t blame the guy, I get that this little youngin doesn’t get the significance of a Trump presidency yet and her basic white girl feelings were hurt but this is the real world. If it was any other political figure running I would not be this offended, I would have said why should this affect your relationship?

But this is Trump.

This is a man who built his platform on hate, divisiveness and bringing America back to segregation and the world back to Hitler’s era. Maybe you did want some change because politicians haven’t been doing a good enough job, but Trump?

BRAH.

You had NO other options? None?

He knows nothing about nothing, this is a bankrupt reality show star, you think he’s going to make positive decisions about your children’s education? A rich man who has probably never stepped inside a public school in his life (unless he bought it for another fraudulent venture)? You think he knows how to handle the nation’s military? Do you think he has the ability to take on the economy and not bring us into more debt even though he’s been bankrupt 7 times, has a fraudulent university and if he had kept the money his father had gave him in the bank, with interest he would have been worth more than he is now?

Maybe you don’t agree with him on EVERYTHING, but just SOME things. But this is not Build-a-Bear workshop, you don’t get to choose what parts off Trump you vote for and which you don’t.

When you voted for Trump you told me, and people like me, that we don’t matter, our lives are insignificant, that it’s okay to treat us like shit and kill us all because we’re not white or we could possibly be terrorists—even though there are just as many white mass murders/terrorists as there are brown ones.

My mom asked me a while later what happened to this guy, “he’s a Trump supporter, I can’t deal with that.”

Deal-breaker.

Leave a Reply

